The State of Tripura became a full-fledged State on January 21, 1972 by operation of the North-Eastern Areas (Reorganization) Act, 1971 and in terms of the said Act the Gauhati High Court was established as common High Court for the seven North-Eastern States of Assam, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh and Tripura, having its Principal Seat at Guwahati, Assam.

There was no separate Judicial Academy in the State of Tripura at that time and a common Judicial Academy for all the Seven North Eastern States namely the “North Eastern Judicial Officers Training Institute” for short NEJOTI was set up at Guwahati under the Gauhati High Court for imparting Judicial training to the Judicial Officers of the North-Eastern States.

After the establishment of the High Court of Tripura on 23rd March, 2013, the Tripura Judicial Academy came to be setup on 21.05.2014 being registered under the Societies Registration Act (Act XXI of 1860) with its prime object to provide training to the Judicial Officers and officers of other Departments of Government of Tripura who are to discharge judicial, quasi-judicial or administrative functions related to law and also to provide training to the Ministerial officers of the High Court of Tripura and the District Judiciary of Tripura, with a view to enhance the capacity. The management of the Academy has been vested in the hands of the Board of Governors consisting of the Hon’ble Chief Justice of the High Court of Tripura, all the sitting Hon’ble Judges of the High Court of Tripura, the Chief Secretary, Government of Tripura and Secretary In-charge, Finance Department of the Government of Tripura.All the above Hon’ble Members are also the Members of the General Body of the said Academy. Besides (a) Advocate General, Tripura (b) Registrar General, High Court of Tripura (c) LR & Secretary, Law, Government of Tripura (d) Chairman, Bar Council of Tripura and (e) President, High Court Bar Association are also the members of the Society of the Academy. The Tripura Judicial Academy Services (Appointment, Conditions of Service and Conduct) Rules, 2014 has also been framed for the Officers and Staff of the establishments of the Tripura Judicial Academy. The posts of Director, Deputy Director and 7(seven) Ministerial Staff were created for the Academy with the concurrence of the State Government on 10.04.2015. The State Government has allotted 5.0(five) acres of land at Narsinghgarh for construction of the Academy. 

Upcoming Events
Meeting of the NJAC at the Supreme Court of India, New Delhi on 21.06.2017